Who is Jagerman?

Posted: July 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

Who is Jagerman?

I have played with this moniker, toyed with it, caressed it like it was some glitzy rock star alter ego.  Indeed, it is my karaoke stage name.  I use it for an email account, for usernames, but I have no real basis for which to define it.  To date it is simply somewhat of an illusion I have created for myself based on a somewhat tasty liquor, that I happen to enjoy on occasion.

Every little boy wants to be a superhero, many of those little boys still want to be one when they grow up, or at least try to, grow up that is.

A flashy name, it means nothing.  That is what I have done with this persona to date.  That and maybe sing a little bit of rocking karaoke.

I would like to make Jagerman some more palpable, something visceral.  I want to be a super hero, or at least strive to do some super things.  Perhaps to make the 56 ingredients of Jagermeister a metaphor for my own attributes.

My quest begins simple with some personal physical feats.  Call them feats of strength, although a little too early for Festivus.  In the coming months I will be participating in various events to begin shaping the more physical elements of Jagerman.  Currently these are the Spartan Race on August 15,2010 in Brooklyn, NY, and the Rugged Maniac on October 2, 2010 in Southwick, MA.  These two events are some of the recent examples of obstacle, or adventure races, that have been creeping up across the country over the last few years.  Similar events are the Warrior Dash and Tough Mudder, in which I hope to participate in the future.

These events involve navigating various obstacles (walls, tunnels, fire, water) over a course for time.  They also apparently involve a party afterwards. The jovial mix of personal competition and ensuing camaraderie is what most attracts me to these races.  That, and they encourage wearing costumes.

Additionally, I have designed a half marathon course, The Hampton Half, which will meander through the towns of Easthampton, Southampton, Westhampton, and Northampton, Massachusetts.  I chose to create my own course to make this run more of a personal journey that a registered race would offer me.  Additionally it is a chance to create, to design, and to implement, which allows me to transcend the physical aspects of creating Jagerman, and to segue into the more creative, nurturing, and intellectual aspects of my hero.

To this end I hope to make the Hampton Half somewhat of a fluid creation, with the hope of growing it, not just in concept now, but perhaps into something more in years to come.

I am dedicating this run to raise money in support of lung cancer research, a malady that has become very real to me through my mother’s current battle with the disease.  More on this in my next entry.

Thank you for joining me in this journey.  Trust me, these entries will not always be so Spartan and somber.  I plan to have fun with this and follow wherever it takes me.

Leave a Reply

